Moving Towards Joy

I’ve been reading C.S. Lewis’ “The Great Divorce” again. I love that book! The point I’m at is one of my favorites and I thought I’d share it with you. The angels are trying to talk to the ghosts of man and convince them to enter Heaven. They offer joy but each person rejects it for what he already has. He refuses to let go of what he has, even though it not really bringing him joy, and accept the bliss he sees in front of him. He does not recognize it as bliss, only sacrifice. “There is always something they insist on keeping even at the price of misery. There is always something they prefer to joy – that is, to reality.”

It brought to mind how many times I’ve heard friends and acquaintances comment about our homeschooling choice. Most people I’ve met have, outwardly anyway, admired our lifestyle and the results of our education choice but when I tell them they too could have what we have, they generally remark that “It’s not for them.” or “It works for your family but it’d never work for ours.” They tell me that they don’t enjoy rushing to and from school, homework, and after-school activities. They are not satisfied with the outcome of the schooling their children have had. They dislike the bullying and confinement of the school system. Yet, when I say “Choose differently.” or “There are other options.” they give excuses about why they must remain where they are, unhappy and unsatisfied. Why?

I really don’t understand our resistance to change. Even when what we have is clearly not making us happy we stand there hoping that someday we will learn to be happy with it instead of trying something new or changing something about our surroundings.

Choosing to homeschool has not been a sacrifice for our family. It is the running toward joy and peace. Yes. I have “sacrificed” being busy, handing over control of my life, bullying, and a myriad of other things for the joy and peace of a lifestyle that brings our family closer and provides a better education for our children with less stress and negative effects. I can’t think of a single thing I’d rather have than that.

Leave a Reply

