War & Peace Notes #2

Well, writing every day hasn’t been going very well lately! How can I make sure I leave time for this? I’m overwhelmed with what I want to do and need to schedule the time and stick to it.

I’m still madly in love with this book! Not since “Pride & Prejudice” have I yelled out loud while reading a book. I’m amazed that everyone has not read it. On to my notes!

Page 155 “you think it’s very easy to capture marshals while sitting on a sofa in front of a fireplace.” That needs no explanation.

Page 156 Prince Andrei is starting to see what a little part he plays in the grand scheme of things. He comes to Brunn to report about his troop’s victory and finds that no one really cares. There are bigger things going on. Lost in our own world, we tend to forget that the world is large. In the grand scheme of things, no one cares or is affected by your taxes going up or your voting in a new mayor. It’s only important to you.

Page 174-175 “The further ahead he moved, the closer to the enemy, the more orderly and cheerful the troops looked.” “All the faces were as calm as though everything was happening not in view of the enemy, prior to an action in which half the division would be left in the field, but somewhere in their home country, in expectation of a peaceful stay.” When I read this I noted that maybe just how we all react in a crisis but reading farther on, I believe they are calm because there is no question about what they need to do. Further from the front line there is less to do and more time to kill. The soldiers are most comfortable when they have no choices to make.

Page 178 “I say that if it were possible to know what there will be after death, none of us would be afraid of death.” My thoughts exactly. I also heard that it isn’t death we are afraid of but dying itself because it might be painful. We’re really afraid of pain. They were talking about it in “All’s Quiet On the Western Front”.

Page 190 “…the thought that he, an exemplary officer, with many years of service, to blame for nothing, might be blamed before his superiors for negligence of inefficiency, struck him so much that, at the same moment, forgetting both the disobedient cavalry colonel and his own dignity as a general, and above all totally forgetting danger and the sense of self-preservation, he gripped the pommel, spurred his horse, and galloped off to his regiment under a hail of bullets…” Not a very noble picture of war. I’m starting to get the idea that Tolstoy is not a big fan of war or the military.

Page 199 Prince Andrei is becoming disillusioned with the military service he dreamed about. Officer’s lying to save their hides and throwing subordinates under the bus. It’s so sad to watch his feelings turn. You can almost touch it.

That’s all I have today since I’m rushing. Sigh. I need to block my time better in the morning but my son is sick and wanted to watch a movie and make cookies. How can I refuse my giant teenage babies?!

Leave a Reply

