Listening & Learning

My son’s conversation on Facebook with an adult friend of mind has me thinking about a lot of things. First of all, I’m always proud to watch him express himself through writing online. I’m finding out a lot about his way of thinking. It’s fascinating to watch him interact with people that have radically different ideas than his.

The other thing is what do people mean by “anarchy”? They seem to think it means chaos or a lack of any kind of rules. It doesn’t, though. It means no rulers. There are natural laws and rights that every human being has. These are commonly known as “just” laws, laws regarding property and personal rights. But any right I claim ends where another’s’ right begins. I do have the right to my own property and person, but I do not have the right to someone else’s. Why is that so difficult to see? I have the right to live and go where I please, but I do not have the right to take something from someone else to do so.

My thoughts are that most people are greedy and selfish. That’s a natural state. People make up the government that you vote for. They are human beings just like you. When we vote for a certain person to make and enforce rules, we’re only giving one small group of people the legal right to be greedy and selfish and the rest of us must shut up and tow the line. It just doesn’t make sense to me.

I don’t know all the details about how an anarchic society would work. It’s never been done. But what we have right now and what our country is becoming isn’t working for very many people, is it? We need to re-think some things. Right now all we have is two or three groups of people standing on opposite sides hurling insults and feeling superior. All the signs point to more anger and feelings of oppression building up until it results in violence. More people need to stop, read, discuss, listen, and learn from each other. More people need to take charge of their own lives instead of voting to make others do it for them.

The positive note is that it seems my sons will be part of the solution in the future. It gives me hope to see them so calmly and logically argue their points, all the while researching and reading and really listening and trying to figure out what people are trying to say. And they are so much better at it than I am!

On that note! I’m reading a book called “How to Write a Paragraph” along with the next in the series “How to Read a Paragraph” from the Foundation for Critical Thinking. Maybe in the near future, my writing will actually flow and go somewhere. Here’s to hoping!

Leave a Reply

