Rabbit Holes

W.E.B. DuBois

http://www.webdubois.org/

Pan-Africanism?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pan-Africanism

Strivings of the Negro People

https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/1897/08/strivings-of-the-negro-people/305446/

I was led down a rabbit hole! I’m still reading Sydney Poitier’s book “The Measure of a Man” and he mentioned great African-American leaders that he admired. One of them was W.E.B. Du Bois, so I looked him up. I’m still reading the Wikipedia article on him and I’m stunned. Progressives! I just don’t understand how a highly educated group of people can believe that there is a certain class of humans that is just better than the rest and it’s their job to take care of everyone else so they don’t hurt themselves, by force if necessary. Well, I could see how a group of white people could think that; sequestered away at universities all your life, I’m sure you see the world differently, that you can’t imagine how the rest of the world lives, but a black man? A grandson of slavery? I don’t get it. Most of the white progressives didn’t think he was part of his kind but he just thought they were mistaken? I’m confused. I’ve put a few of his books on my reading list though.

Oh! And he shared the idea of pragmatic religious naturalism with John Dewey and others, this idea that you could replace metaphysical religion with a natural or civil religion through the system of government schools. Yikes! I just heard about that idea again through the School Sucks Podcast. Crazy.

And eugenics! What in the world? Anyway.

I’m fascinated with African-American history right now, just a bit. It started with Martin Luther King, Jr. and now I’m finding new autobiography books to read. This one by Sydney Poitier is just amazing. His life, his background, his principles, what he was trying to do with his craft. I’m just so impressed, and that’s saying a lot because I’m not a fan of actors in general. Through his book, I’m finding other sources to read and it’s very interesting. I also picked up Maya Angelou’s book “The Heart of a Woman.” I can’t wait to read that one. I’m really enjoying getting these very different perspectives of the world.

Leave a Reply

